DB Outreach: Inspiring Talk by Janet Horton

When:
May 2, 2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm
2021-05-02T19:00:00-04:00
2021-05-02T20:00:00-04:00
Cost:
Free
Contact:
Mackenzie Talcott
303-720-0144

Embracing Humanity:

A Virtual Talk by Janet Horton

DB Outreach hosts Janet Horton in another virtual Inspiring Talk on May 2nd, 2021; 7pm EDT, 6pm CDT, 5pm MDT, 4pm PDT

Join DB for another virtual Inspiring Talk with retired Army Colonel Janet Horton on the topic of Embracing Humanity. Come to be inspired by some of Janet’s own experiences and finding that love is always the victor. She will share about love overcoming hate and finding the healing answer even in the toughest and most shocking situations.

Registration is now Open!

Register Here

About Janet Horton

Janet Horton is a native of Crystal, Michigan and grew up in Iowa.  She is married to Jeffrey Harvey of Swanton, VT.  She entered the U. S. Army in June 1976 served for 28 years as a Christian Science Chaplain.  She was the first woman in the Army Chaplain Corps to be assigned as a Division or Corps level Supervisory Chaplain and the first woman to attain the grade of Colonel in the Army Chaplain Corps.  

She had two tours in the Pentagon and prayed with casualties in the Pentagon Courtyard on 9-11,  and supervised the religious support for Task Forces in Bosnia, Albania and Kosovo.  

Her education includes a Masters of Divinity from Boston University School of Theology in Theology and a Masters of Arts Degree in Religious Studies from Stanford University in Religious Studies.  She was selected as a Distinguished Alumni of Boston University School of Theology in September of 2011.  She was the first woman Chaplain to attend the Army War College.  From her studies of Divine Command Morality and the Abraham Tradition she has briefed on the Extremist mindset in the Military Intelligence community, the Inter Agencies such as Homeland Defense, the US Marshall’s Office and the Defense Intelligence Agency and at Pace University in New York City.   

She currently volunteers providing Christian Science services at the Marion County Correctional Facility

Janet was inducted into the U.S. Army Women’s Foundation Hall of Fame on March 7, 2019.